Trumping the Fool

Two articles in Saturday’s SMH played perfectly into my post-apocalyptic fantasy world.

Firstly, there was Richard Glover’s fanciful take on life without the internet and the important role the older brigade will play in teaching our younger friends how to survive without Google, GPS, Snapchat etc.

We will dig into the recesses of our memory and remember what it was like to put a key in the door of our car or house, we will dredge the darkness and try to recall how we used to send a letter and we will trawl the archives as we search for that old solar powered calculator that was “oh so modern” in the 1980’s.

We will be the living history, the human encyclopedia our children and grandchildren will turn to in their hour of need.

The article was a timely reminder of just how fragile our world has become, as our reliance on the internet becomes more and more consuming.

The thought of something as basic as the running of our trains and traffic lights haunts me, as I approach the time when it will be no longer of any concern to me.

Does this mean I will I have to actually carry the hard copy scans of my withering brain, instead of walking out of St Vincents straight after the MRI, content in the knowledge they will be on the Professors desktop in time for my next appointment.

Oops, I forgot; the damn MRI Machine probably will not work anyway and I will miss the dubious pleasure of being able to compare the growth of the white spots at the base of my brain against how big and how many there were six months ago.

Drugs and pigheadedness have slowed the deterioration to a fraction of the speed it was just few short years ago, my Plateau has bought untold benefits in terms of the love and time I can lavish on those precious grandchildren.

This brings me to the second piece in Saturday’s Herald; the interview with Roger Waters of Pink Floyd; now that’s a name that will challenge anyone under thirty.

I used to hope that by the time of my demise, Science may have trumped ignorance and there was a future for the world I would be leaving behind, now I am not so sure my pigheadedness has been worth the effort.

Waters uses that wonderfully old fashioned word, “Nincompoop” to describe the current occupant of the White House, what a delightfully humbling description of the narcissistic fool who now leads the free world.

Waters goes on to say, he now fears World War Three, Roger that makes at least two of us!

The thought of the future of the world being controlled by a man who believes in himself so fervently, a man to whom science and politeness are just mere words to be brushed aside in his rapacious race to power, and a man who has made “Fake News” and a disregard for the constraints of a legal system the hallmarks of his dirty administration.

I was never a fan of the Kardashians or the Apprentice, but I also never dreamed they would be anything other than a ridiculous sideshow to a world which was starting to take science seriously and was looking at ways we could contain the damage we had done to the planet.

They are no longer a sideshow, ignorance has trumped science and they are now the main event.

There is hope though. That hope has kept me going, way past the time when dribbling and death should have overtaken me.

That hope is family and the simple goodness and intelligence, I still believe resides deep in the souls of most people.

Richard, before the internet breaks, can we at least try to use it for the promotion of family, intelligence and goodness.

If we all work at that, Roger, we may be able to avoid the horrors of the apocalypse we fear.

 

Leave a Reply

